International Colloquium on Equatorial and Low-Latitude Ionosphere

September 13-18, 2021
Bowen University,
Iwo, Oyo State, Nigeria

The equatorial region, also known as the low latitude region, refers to the region within ± 20° on either side of the geomagnetic equator.  The region is characterized with much complexities and high level of dynamics which result in phenomena such as spread F, ionospheric anomaly, equatorial electrojet, equatorial plasma fountain, etc. Installation of new and diverse forms of ionospheric equipment is providing avenue to reveal more information about the equatorial region which were previously not known, especially in the African sector. The first HF radar in equatorial Africa, known as the NigerBEAR (Nigerian Bowen Equatorial Aeronomy RADAR), is being installed at Bowen University. The equipment is envisaged to enhance ionospheric research capability in the region, provide new data on the equatorial ionosphere, provide new scientific results that could improve our understanding of the equatorial ionosphere and space weather, create a multi-technique approach to study the ionosphere, and to facilitate brain gain in the region.

Main features
The first annual ‘Colloquium on Equatorial and Low Latitude Ionosphere’ took place between 9th and 13th September 2019 at the University of Lagos, Nigeria. The second edition was virtual online due to COVID 19 pandemic. The second edition built on the success of the first edition and featured a composition of tutorials, seminars, conference and hands-on training on every aspect of research and techniques bordering on the dynamics of equatorial and low latitude ionosphere as well as space weather.

The third edition will hold between 13th and 18th September 2021 at Bowen University, Iwo, Nigeria. The Virginia Tech University, USA, is setting up the first Superdarn-like HF radar in equatorial Africa, to be domiciled within the campus of Bowen University, Iwo, Nigeria. This very edition is scheduled to take place at the site of the HF radar in Bowen University to enable participants witness the installation and/or operation of the facility. Those who may join online will have the privilege of following the proceedings accordingly. This edition will concentrate on HF radars as viable equipment for ionospheric and space weather studies. Highlights of the meeting shall include previous contributions to knowledge achieved through the use of HF Radars, contemporary and on-going research on application of HF Radar measurements for ionospheric studies, and future trends for HF Radar applications in ionospheric and space weather research.

The Colloquium shall also include introductory discussions on HF Radars, and on phenomena such as equatorial ionosphere, equatorial electrojet, equatorial ionospheric anomaly, geomagnetic disturbances, geomagnetically induced currents, solar-terrestrial relations, stratospheric warming, space weather, theory and modeling of ionospheric scintillation and irregularities, etc.

This Colloquium shall offer opportunities for presentation of standard contributions (oral and poster), delivery of invited papers by distinguished scientists with the intention of educating young scientists, as well as exhibition of space-dependent technologies and measurement systems relevant to ionospheric studies. The forum shall serve as an effective meeting point for scientists, policy makers, students and designers of space-dependent technologies.

Nature of meeting
The meeting will be hybrid (Physical/ Online)

Working language
The working language of the Colloquium is English.
Application: Online
ICELLI Online Form

Colloquium Fees(Payable only on-site at the point of registration)

National Participants from Nigeria
Scientists:  Fifteen Thousand Naira only
Students: Five thousand naira only
International participants:
Scientists:  Fifty US dollars
Students: Twenty five US dollars

Registration and abstract submission will close on July 1, 2021.
Acceptance notification: July 15, 2021.
Invitation letters distribution: August 13, 2021

Publication of presented papers
Provision shall be made to publish papers presented at the Colloquium in peer-reviewed reputable journals with international acceptance. The publications shall thereafter be made available both in print and online.

International Advisory Board

  1. Professor Babatunde Rabiu; Centre for Atmospheric Research, National Space Research and Development Agency, Nigeria
  2. Professor Kazuo Shiokawa, Nagoya University, Japan
  3. Christine Mazaudier, Sorbonne Universities, UPMC University, Laboratoire de Physique des Plasmas, Paris, France
  4. Surja Sharma, University of Maryland, USA
  5. Professor S. M. Radicella, Abdus Salam International Centre for theoretical Physics, Italy –
  6. Professor Pat Doherty, Boston College, USA
  7. Professor George Maeda, Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
  8. Bruno Nava, Abdus Salam International Centre for theoretical Physics, Italy
  9. Fujimoto, Akiko; Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan
  10. Professor Victor Chukwuma, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Nigeria –
  11. Professor Elijah Oyeyemi, University of Lagos, Nigeria
  12. Elijah Falayi, Tai Solarin University, Nigeria
  13. Olawale Bolaji, University of Lagos, Nigeria

Technical/Logistics Committee
Professor Babatunde Rabiu
Dr. Daniel Okoh
Dr. Olumide Ajani
Aderonke Obafaye
Co-organised by
Network of Space-Earth Environmentalists

General questions: please contact us at:
Supported by the African Geophysical Society
AGS weblink:

Download some of the papers presented during the 2019 and 2020 Colloquium:

May 2022